21st January 2017

Colburn given Oulton race two win as Bushell is penalised

James Colburn has been declared the winner of Oulton Park’s second Renault UK Clio Cup race after Mike Bushell, who crossed the line in first place, was given a time penalty by officials.

Team Pyro’s Bushell was deemed to have unfairly pushed PP Motorsport with Westbourne’s Colburn out of the way to grab first position during the race.

And after reviewing video evidence, the championship’s clerk of the course handed Bushell a 0.6 second time penalty – enough to demote him back to second behind Colburn in the result.

Colburn’s win is the first in the UK Clio Cup for the PP Motorsport with Westbourne team. Regardless of the change in result, Bushell still leaves Oulton with a sizeable points lead… (CLICK HERE for the points table).

The race was ultimately red-flagged after just two racing laps when Pyro’s Jack McCarthy crashed heavily at the high-speed Druids corner – he had been unsighted cresting the brow at Clay Hill and struck Jade Edwards’s slowing Ciceley car, damaged in a tangle with SDR’s Shayne Deegan.

The latter has since been excluded from the results because of his part in that incident – this hands Pyro’s Kyle Hornby victory in the Graduates Cup class for young, first-season drivers…

Tagged by

UK Clio Cup

Written by

Carl McKellar

Proudly supported by

Vital Software
Vital Cars
Altima Group
CGS Consultants